Log in as a…



We’ve partnered with CREA to help improve your member experience and give your information the best security possible.

You will be returned to OREA once you have successfully logged in.

Login as a Member

We can help

OREA History

1920's era OREA

In 2017, the Ontario Real Estate Association celebrates its 95th anniversary. The current membership consists of almost 92,000 brokers and salespeople who are members of the province’s 34 real estate boards across Ontario. OREA serves its members through a variety of publications, educational programs, and special services. The OREA mission is to help Ontario REALTORS®, brokerages, and associations succeed.


Here’s a timeline of key events through the decades in the history of OREA:

In 1922, a handful of volunteers formed the Ontario Association of Real Estate Boards (OAREB), with a vision to organize real estate activities province-wide and to bring higher standards to the profession.

After 8 years of lobbying, this small association of fewer than 200 members scored a major victory when the provincial government passed the Real Estate and Business Brokers Act in 1930. This pioneering act required salespeople and brokers to obtain a licence. It marked the start of ongoing efforts to bring standards, respect, and public trust to an emerging profession.

In 1972, the association was renamed the Ontario Real Estate Association (OREA) and, today, it has almost 92,000 members across the province. However, our mission to focus on professionalism and standards continues to be the driving force behind our progress.

Over the years, the association has faced many challenges and achieved great successes in raising the bar for the profession, protecting consumers, fighting for the rights of REALTORS®, and embracing technology.

Today’s association delivers registration education courses on behalf of the Real Estate Council of Ontario (RECO), represents the interests of members through government relations activities, and promotes the value and professionalism of REALTORS® through communication and public relations initiatives. In addition, we produce standard forms used by members daily in real estate transactions, and we support charitable causes and communities through the OREA Foundation.

Thanks to the commitment of OREA’s founders and the dedicated efforts of volunteers, Ontario real estate professionals are now recognized as among the most knowledgeable and best educated in the world.

OREA has grown from the small group of the 1920s to an association of 92,000 members and 34 real estate board.

Milestones through the decades:

1920s – OAREB is founded to bring province-wide standards to an unregulated, emerging profession.

1930s – The new Real Estate and Business Brokers Act requires salespeople and brokers to obtain a licence simply by registering their name.

1940s – The Canadian Association of Real Estate Boards is established. The issue of rent control, seen as curtailing housing for those engaged in wartime efforts, was on OAREB’s agenda.

1950s – OAREB makes education courses available and basic examinations for registration become law.

1960s – To become a member of any of Ontario’s 42 real estate boards, prospective salespeople must attend 16 lectures and pass a 2½ hour examination. Mandatory education is established.

1970s – OAREB’s mandatory registration education program is extended to include 150 hours of course study. OAREB becomes OREA.

1980s – Mandatory articling is introduced and members are required to complete continuing education within the first two years after registration. OREA begins lobbying for self-regulation.

1990s – OREA publishes a universal agreement of purchase and sale. Written agency disclosure that specifies the persons for whom the salesperson or broker is working is included in the REALTOR® Code of Ethics. OREA and the provincial government sign an historic agreement granting the profession the right to self-management.

2000s – Mandatory continuing education for salespeople and brokers becomes law. Landmark changes are made to the REBBA for the first time in 50 years. Revisions include tougher consumer protection regulations that promise to elevate respect for the real estate profession.

2010s – OREA pushes for amendments to legislation that would require home sellers to provide buyers with home energy audits, secures an exemption for real estate brokers from having to take mortgage brokerage educations courses, and successfully lobbies for better protection of property owners from mining claims.

OREA Presidents

Leaders of OREA have come from all corners of Ontario – from Thunder Bay to Windsor to Ottawa. Here is a list of OREA's leaders from 1922 to 2021:


1922 R. B. RiceToronto

1923 A. SimmersWindsor

1924 G. GibsonToronto

1925 F. K. HamiltonHamilton

1926 W. H. BosleyToronto

1927 W. H. BosleyToronto

1928 W. H. BosleyToronto

1929 M. H. LounsburyHamilton

1930 H. J. FinchWindsor

1931 C. W. RossOttawa

1932 C. R. DeMaraHamilton

1933 C. R. DeMaraHamilton

1934 A. E. LePageToronto

1935 J. C. SuydamToronto

1936 J. C. SuydamToronto

1937 W. H. BosleyToronto

1938 W. H. BosleyToronto

1939 W. H. BosleyToronto

1940 C. E. PurnellHamilton

1941 C. E. PurnellHamilton

1942 C. E. PurnellHamilton

1943 C. K. JuttenHamilton

1944 C. K. JuttenHamilton

1945 R. H. RiceToronto

1946 R. H. RiceToronto

1947 E. J. OliverOttawa

1948 E. J. OliverOttawa

1949 S. C. AskinWindsor

1950 S. ChambersHamilton

1951 E. C. BriscoChatham

1952 B. E. WilloughbyToronto

1953 P. J. HarveyBrantford

1954 M. BosleyToronto

1955 B. KatzOttawa

1956 C. R. WhitneyKitchener

1957 P. A. SeagroveHamilton

1958 F. N. McFarlaneOttawa

1959 C. W. RogersToronto

1960 P. H. McKeownOttawa

1961 K. S. Raven,Kingston

1962 E.B. FlemingSault Ste. Marie

1963 R. E. SandersonMississauga

1964 A. Wiebe,Kitchener

1965 D. R. WymarkOttawa

1966 E. A. MitchellBrampton

1967 R. W. TelfordToronto

1968 T. N. SheaMarkham

1969 A. FishGuelph

1970 L. G. MetcalfOshawa

1971 J. H. BoydSmiths Falls

1972 G. A. GrisdaleThunder Bay

1973 T. G. ChambersHamilton

1974 G. X. WalkerSt. Catharines

1975 E. L. HoppeKitchener

1976 W. D. AllanToronto

1977 R. A. SheaMarkham

1978 A. F. JohnsonGeorgetown

1979 A. W. MurrayHamilton

1980 M. W. ParkToronto

1981 R. H. PedlerWindsor

1982 P. L. MasonToronto

1983 W. J. DeanOrillia

1984 J. T. StaffordKingston

1985 W. D. HopkinsBrantford

1986 M. S. LamondToronto

1987 F. M. ReardonOttawa

1988 J. A. CathcartCaledon East

1989 T. E. MouradianSt. Catharines

1990 M. J. (Knox) SchiedelGuelph

1991 T. W. BosleyToronto

1992 K. T. O’ConnorNiagara-on-the-Lake

1993 J. M. EdwardsBurlington

1994 R. GodsoeMississauga

1995 R. E. LerouxLondon

1996 R. WoodTillsonburg

1997 R. StorringTamworth

1998 H. FoyBrantford

1999 T. TrembinskiSault Ste. Marie

2000 R. MerkleyBrockville

2001 D. UsherToronto

2002 B. SukkauSt. Catharines

2003 L. BaumgartnerHaliburton

2004 L. LeyserStratford

2005 T. FahmiBurlington

2006 T. LeeSmiths Falls

2007 B. WalkerRichmond Hill

2008 G. WeirLondon

2009 P. AungerSmiths Falls

2010 D. MasonMarkham

2011 B. SukkauSt. Catharines

2012 R. AbrahamToronto

2013 P. DornerBelle River

2014 C. PoulopoulosLondon

2015 P. VergeOttawa

2016 R. FerrisSimcoe

2017 E. CardarelliMississauga

2018 D. ReidGravenhurst

2019 K. CoxChatsworth

2020 S. MorrisonBurlington

2021 D. OikleOttawa

2022 S. EvoyLondon

To MP Survey
OREA Contract